International Seminar for Halakhic Study, Fall 2022

Posted on: Friday October 7, 2022

The Committee of Jewish Law and Standards (CJLS) of the Rabbinical Assembly is sponsoring the International Seminar for Halakhic Study on Sunday, December 11, 2022.*

The International Seminar for Halakhic Study is a Conservative/Masorti movement program created to show how our halakhic decisions develop from our spiritual values and ethical ideals, to bring our membership and its communities into the CJLS process, and to emphasize the importance of halakhic study within the global Conservative/Masorti communities.

This year’s teshuvah is “On the Mitzvah of Sustainability” by Rabbis Nina Beth Cardin and Avram Reisner.

View the introductory video here.

Participants will engage in a number of the key texts of the teshuvah. After studying the teshuvah, the rabbi and participants will discuss the merits of different approaches.

Here are resources to help you:

*This is a recommended date only and may be adjusted to meet the needs of the community. For example, rabbis who are day school educators may wish to schedule the program for a weekday instead of on Sunday.


There are two options to register, below.

1)     Congregations may choose to schedule a session of the seminar for their community in which their rabbi and educators may use the text of the teshuvah along with the source sheet and study guide to learn the text together. This is an excellent opportunity to engage an environmental action committee.

2)    Individuals who are unable to attend an in-person communal learning session may sign up to attend a virtual learning session on Sunday, December 11th, led by Conservative/Masorti rabbinical students.

Virtual learning sessions will be held on December 11th at:

1:00 PM ET / 10:00 AM PT / 8:00 PM Israel OR

6:00 PM ET / 3:00 PM PT

If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out to Miriam Leisman Rubin at mileismanrubin@jtsa.edu.

Register as Community or as Individual
Use this if you plan to host your own session of the International Seminar for Halakhic Study in your community.
Use this if you wish to attend an online session of the International Seminar in Halakhic Study.
Are you the leader of this community?
Will you be holding the Day with another congregation, school, community, or organization?
Choose your preferred attendance time for a virtual seminar.