Purim Programming Open to All

Posted on: Monday January 25, 2021

Thursday Evening - Erev Purim

February 25, 2021

 

Maariv & Megillah Reading

Adat Shalom-Emanuel - Rohovot, Israel

11:00 AM ET, 10:00 AM CT, 8:00 AM PT, 6:00 PM Israel time

Contact: Rabbi Mikie Goldstein, ravmikie@adatshalom.org.il

 

Mask-Car-Aid: Purim in Pandemic

Adath Israel - Merion Station, PA

6:00-8:30 PM ET, 5:00-7:30 PM CT, 3:00-5:30 PM PT, 1:00-3:30 AM Israel time (Friday)

CHAI-brid Event for All Ages and Backgrounds!  

6:00 ET - Mincha/Beginning of Ma'ariv

6:30 ET - Purim Costume Pageant in Cars in our Parking Lot, on Zoom, and a Pre-Submitted Costume Slideshow Pageant, including results of our Mask-Making Craft Classes

7:00 ET - Parking Lot Megillah Reading (also on Zoom) - use your horns to blot out Haman's name! 

8:00 ET - Virtual Shpiel Watch Party! Join the fun! Put Haman on Mute!

Contact: Rabbi Eric Yanoff, eyanoff@adathisrael.org, 610-934-1919

Register here to get Zoom link

 

Purim@Adas - Time Unlocked: Meditations on Past, Present and Future  

Adas Israel Congregation - Washington, DC

6:00-9:30 PM ET, 5:00-8:30 PM CT, 3:00-6:30 PM PT, 1:00-4:30 AM Israel time (Friday) 

The Clergy at Adas Israel, in an attempt to escape this wild year, performed a little-known kabbalistic spell to move backwards, and forwards, through time. Instead, THEY BROKE TIME! The Adas Building has become a portal for all the time periods throughout history, and only YOU can save it!

LIVESTREAM SCHEDULE

6:00 ET Outdoor Purim Festival, Megillah Highlights, and Purim Video

6:45 ET Themed Building Walkthrough and Mystery Hunt

8:00 ET Full Megillah Reading (no muss, no fuss, just the text)           

Contact: Rabbi Sarah Krinsky, rabbi.krinsky@adasisrael.org   

 

Evening Megillah Reading with Maariv

Megillah Reading On-Site with Minyan and with Zoom and LiveStream. Texts via shared screens and downloadable.

Congregation Beth El-Keser Israel - "BEKI" New Haven, Connecticut

6:15-7:45 PM ET, 5:15-6:45 PM CT, 3:15-4:45 PM ET, 1:15-2:45 AM Israel time (Friday)

Contact: Rachel Wiseman, bekitefilla@gmail.com, 203-887-1182

 

Purim Palooza with Family Megillah Reading and Costume Contest followed by Complete Megillah Reading

6:30 PM ET, 5:30 PM CT, 3:30 PM PT, 1:30 AM Israel time (Friday)

Bet Shira Congregation Miami, FL

Contact Rabbi Ben Herman at rabbi@betshira.org for the zoom link.

 

Tailgate Purim Party

6:30-7pm ET - Purim for Kids

7-7:30pm ET - Live Music

7:30-9:30pm ET - Complete, Live Megillah Reading replete with shtick, joy, and love

Congregation Agudas Achim - Austin, TX

6:30-9:30 PM ET, 5:30-8:30 PM CT, 3:30-6:30 PM PT, 1:30-4:30 AM Israel time (Friday)

Contact: Jennifer Rubin, jennifer.rubin@caa-austin.org, 512-735-8428

 

Purim on (Off) Broadway at JTS

JTS Block/Kolker Center for Spiritual Arts - New York, NY 6:30-8:30 PM ET, 5:30-7:30 PM CT, 3:30-5:30 PM PT, 1:30-3:30 AM Israel time (Friday)

Virtual Maariv, full Megillah reading with integrated shpiel for adults. Parody songs/videos of Broadway songs will be played between chapters, with commentary on the Megillah, including theological challenges and contemporary parallels. The humor is intended for the general public, not "insider" JTS humor. Megillah read by JTS students, alumni and faculty. The humor is sophisticated adult humor, intended to be edgy and challenging while witty and playful. We will not have formal closed captioning, but nearly all liturgy will appear on screen, there will be a powerpoint of the Megillah text itself, and all song lyrics will be onscreen. We will also post a downloadable Maariv/Megillah text.

Contact: Jonathon Adler, joadler@jtsa.edu, 212-280-6074

 

Purim Puppet Show

Our annual Purim Puppet Production has gone virtual! This popular show has been adapted for the Zoom environment and promises to be a fun family event, geared towards pre-school and young elementary school ages.

Tikvat Israel - Rockville, MD

6:30-7:15 PM ET, 5:30-6:15 PM CT, 3:30-4:15 PM PT, 1:30-2:15 AM Israel time (Friday)

Contact: Amy Matathias, office@tikvatisrael.org, 301-762-6338

 

Mugshot Megillah - Purim Megillah Reading

Shearith Israel - Atlanta, GA

6:45 PM ET, 5:45 PM CT, 3:45 PM PT, 1:45 AM Israel time (Friday)

We're collecting posed scenes of the Megillah by our congregants and arranging them into a slideshow to accompany the traditional reading of the Megillah.

Contact: Rabbi Ari Kaiman, rabbikaiman@shearithisrael.com, 310-402-6958

 

Megillah Reading and Shpiel

Beth El Synagogue - Margate, NJ

7:00-8:00 PM ET, 6:00-7:00 PM CT, 4:00-5:00 PM PT, 2:00-3:00 AM Israel time (Friday)

Megillah reading by Cantor Avima Darnov who will zoom her scroll and yad. Cantor Ralph Goren will screen share Megillah with punctuation. At conclusion there will be a brief shpiel.

Contact: Cantor Ralph Goren, cantoralph@gmail.com, 609-823-2725

Send attendance requests to cantoralph@gmail.com - please register by Feb. 24

 

Purim Megillah Reading

Congregation Ahavas Israel - Grand Rapids, MI

7:00 PM ET, 6:00 PM CT, 4:00 PM PT, 2:00 AM Israel time (Friday)

Contact: Rabbi David Krishef, rabbi@ahavasisraelgr.org 

 

Purim Megillah and Shpiel

Congregation Beth Israel - Worcester, MA

Back by popular demand, for our 3rd First Annual Nano Lecture series. Between the chapters of Megillah reading, community members will have 24 seconds to deliver a lecture on a topic of their choice, in the language of their choice, and then in 6 words, will have to summarize it for all audiences. (based on the 24/7 lecture series as part of the Ig Nobel Awards)

7:00-9:00 PM ET, 6:00-8:00 PM CT, 4:00-6:00 PM PT, 2:00-4:00 AM Israel time (Friday)

Contact: Rabbi Aviva Fellman, rabbi@bethisraelworc.org, 508-756-6204

E-mail for the zoom address

 

Megillah Reading and Purim Shpiel

Following our traditional Ma'ariv and Megillah Service our Purim Players will put on an original Purim production featuring an alternative take on the Megillah (think "Wicked" meets Esther)!

Tikvat Israel - Rockville, MD

7:15-8:45 PM ET, 6:15-7:45 PM CT, 4:15-5:45 PM PT, 2:15-3:45 AM Israel time (Friday)

Contact: Amy Matathias, office@tikvatisrael.org, 301-762-6338

 

Megillah Reading B'yahad

Congregation Agudath Achim - Shreveport, LA

7:15-9:00 PM ET, 6:15-8:00 PM CT, 4:15-6:00 PM PT, 2:15-4:00 AM Israel time (Friday)

This Purim, we want you to read Megillah! Whether in English, Spanish, or Hebrew, in song, dance, or the traditional trope, we want your wackiest interpretation of Esther’s story! In between chapters, we’ll enjoy a trivia game with prizes for the winners. Please contact Rabbi Sydni with your interest in reading megillah. And of course, costumes are more than welcome, both for those reading and those more interested in sitting back and enjoying.

Contact: Rabbi Sydni Rubinstein, rabbi@agudathshreveport.com. 318-797-6401

For the Zoom link, please contact rabbi@agudathshreveport.com

Purim Megillah Reading

Bring your funny hat and join Congregation Habonim for a full reading of Megillat Esther. We begin with a psalm and the invitation for those who wish to recite Mourner's Kaddish.

Congregation Habonim - New York

7:15-8:30 PM ET, 6:15-7:30 PM CT, 4:15-5:30 PM PT, 2:15-3:30 AM Israel time (Friday)

Contact: Rabbi Lisa Gelber, rabbigelber@habonim.net, 917-318-2152

 

Evening Minyan with Full Megillah

B’nai Amoona - St. Louis, MO

7:15 PM ET, 6:15 PM CT, 4:15 PM PT, 2:15 AM Israel time (Friday)

Zoom Link

 

Maariv and Full Megillah Reading

Our daily minyan followed by the chanting of the entire Megillah.

Temple Beth Abraham - Nashua, NH

7:30-8:30 PM ET, 6:30-7:30 PM CT, 4:30-5:30 PM PT, 2:30-3:30 AM Israel time (Friday)

Contact: Rabbi Jon Spira-Savett, rabbijon@tbanashua.org, 603-809-9736

 

A Very Zoomy Purim Megillah Reading

Join TBS for a full reading of the Megillah over Zoom.

Temple Beth Sholom - Cherry Hill, NJ

7:30-9:00 PM ET, 6:30-8:00 PM CT, 4:30-6:00 PM PT, 2:30-4:00 AM Israel time (Friday)

Contact: Michele Hasit Waxman, micheleh@tbsonline.org, 856-751-6663

 

Purim Party

Am Yisrael - Highland Park, IL

8:00-9:00 PM ET, 7:00-8:00 PM CT, 5:00-6:00 PM PT, 3:00-4:00 AM Israel time (Friday)

Abbreviated Megillah reading and Dance Party for all ages

Jokes - pre recorded in between readings. Short, silly, good natured jokes are welcome. 

Megillah Masks...decorate your covid mask for Purim. We will look at all of them!

Wacky Mac Graggors. Pick up boxes of Wacky Mac (kosher mac and cheese, available at Jewel and other grocery stores). To be donated.

Contact: Nancy Holab Nevins, nhnevins@amyisrael.org, 847-778-2970

Visit www.amyisrael.org for livestream or contact Nancy Holab Nevins to register for zoom login.

 

Purim Stardust: The Megillah of David Bowie

Temple B'nai Hayim / Congregation Beth Meier - Sherman Oaks, CA

10:00 PM-12:00 AM ET, 9:00-11:00 PM CT, 7:00-9:00 PM PT, 5:00-7:00 AM Israel time (Friday)

Pre-recorded music videos of David Bowie's music recast with Purimesque lyrics, interspersed with full Megillah reading.

Contact: Rabbi Jason van Leeuwen, Rebjason613@gmail.com, 818-633-3720

Email Jason for zoom link.

 

Purim Shpiel – Star Trek Theme; The Wrath of Haman

Congregation Beth David - Saratoga, CA

10:00-10:45 PM ET, 9:00-9:45 PM CT, 7:00-7:45 PM PT, 5:00-5:45 AM Israel time (Friday)

Come join the crew of the Starship Shushanprise as Captain Ahashverosh must stop a new nemesis from destroying life on Earth! 

To connect online: Zoom Link

To connect by phone, call (669) 900-6833, Meeting ID: 822 1939 8545, Passcode: 427941

 

Gantze Megillah

Congregation Beth David - Saratoga, CA

10:45 PM-12:00 AM ET, 9:45-11:00 PM CT, 7:45 – 9:00 PM PT, 5:45-7:00 AM Israel time (Friday)

The “Gantze” Megillah experience is a full reading of the scroll of Esther geared towards adults with appropriate moments of gragger noise and frivolity. 

To connect online: Zoom Link

To connect by phone, call (669) 900-6833, Meeting ID: 822 1939 8545, Passcode: 427941

 

Purim Megillah Reading

Adas Israel - Washington, DC

Contact: Rabbi Sarah Krinsky, sarahkrinsky@gmail.com, for details

 

 

 

Friday Morning - Purim Day

February 26, 2021

 

Shaharit & Megillah Reading

Adat Shalom-Emanuel - Rohovot, Israel

2:00 AM ET, 1:00 AM CT, 11:00 PM PT (Thursday), 9:00 AM Israel time

Contact: Rabbi Mikie Goldstein, ravmikie@adatshalom.org.il

 

Friday Morning Shaharit & Megillah Reading On-Site and On-Line with Minyan

Chat notice of page numbers; link to siddur and Megillah texts

Congregation Beth El-Keser Israel - "BEKI" New Haven, Connecticut

7:00-8:00 AM ET, 6:00-7:00 AM CT, 4:00-5:00 AM PT

Contact: Rachel Wiseman, bekitefilla@gmail.com, 203-887-1182

 

Morning Minyan with Full Megillah

B’nai Amoona - St. Louis, MO

8:00 AM ET, 7:00 AM CT, 5:00 AM PT

Zoom Link; Meeting ID: 971 8964 5201 

 

Shacharit and Megillah Reading

This will be a traditional Shacharit service for Purim, including a full Megillah reading. Please email office@tikvatisrael.org to get the Zoom link.

Tikvat Israel Congregation - Rockville, MD

8:00-9:30 AM ET, 7:00-8:30 AM CT, 5:00-6:30 AM PT

Contact: Amy Matathias, office@tikvatisrael.org, 301-762-6338

 

Minyan with Full Megillah Reading 

8:30 AM ET, 7:30 AM CT, 5:30 AM PT

Contact Rabbi Ben Herman at rabbi@betshira.org for the zoom link

 

Shaharit and Megillah Reading

Bring your tallit and tefillin to Zoom for a traditional but still wacky morning service and Megillah reading, with space to explore the book of Esther with Rabbis Rubinstein.

Congregation Agudath Achim - Shreveport, LA

11:00 AM-1:00 PM ET, 10:00 AM-12:00 PM CT, 8:00-10:00 AM PT

Contact: Rabbi Sydni Rubinstein, rabbi@agudathshreveport.com. 318-797-6401

 

Megillah Reading

Temple Ramat Zion - Northridge, CA

1:00-2:00 PM ET, 12:00-1:00 PM CT, 10:00-11:00 AM PT

Contact: Rabbi Ahud Sela, rabbisela@trz.org, 818-360-1881

 

 Purim Shpiel – Star Trek Theme; The Wrath of Haman

Congregation Beth David - Saratoga, CA

10:00-10:45 PM ET, 9:00-9:45 PM CT, 7:00-7:45 PM PT, 5:00-5:45 AM Israel time (Friday)

Come join the crew of the Starship Shushanprise as Captain Ahashverosh must stop a new nemesis from destroying life on Earth! 

To connect online: Zoom Link

To connect by phone, call (669) 900-6833, Meeting ID: 822 1939 8545, Passcode: 427941

Gantze Megillah

Congregation Beth David - Saratoga, CA

10:45 PM-12:00 AM ET, 9:45-11:00 PM CT, 7:45 – 9:00 PM PT, 5:45-7:00 AM Israel time (Friday)

The “Gantze” Megillah experience is a full reading of the scroll of Esther geared towards adults with appropriate moments of gragger noise and frivolity. 

To connect online: Zoom Link

To connect by phone, call (669) 900-6833, Meeting ID: 822 1939 8545, Passcode: 427941

 

Congregation Rodef Shalom - Denver, CO

Thursday, Feb. 25

5:30 p.m. mst - The Rebbitzman's Disco Party on Zoom

Register here: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwkf-ChqjotE9Q2YEXN-LZnzp8CMqAjRaVI

6:30 p.m. mst - Full Megillah Reading on Zoom

Register here: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZIqfuqqrTgtGdBY0jQxGIvEzx4cEUtHsmhE

1:00 p.m. mst- More Megillah - Full Reading

https://www.rodef-shalom.org/stream

We also published an e-magazine full of Purim recipes, crafts, and activities available here: https://www.yumpu.com/s/BzoFGsHrOWRunkhl

Contact: Rabbi Rachel Kobrin rabbi.kobrin@rodef-shalom.org

 

If you have any questions about these listings, please contact info@rabbinicalassembly.org.