Archive 2015

Join us for a Historic Celebration of 30 Years of Women as Conservative Rabbis

Thirty years ago the gates of The Jewish Theological Seminary swung open to admit eighteen women who would become Conservative rabbis. These women made history as they entered as rabbinical students in the Fall of 1984 and in May 1985, the first of the 18 – Rabbi Amy Eilberg – would fulfill that dream and be ordained as a Conservative rabbi.

On Tuesday, April 28th at 3:30 PM at JTS (3080 Broadway at West 122nd Street) we will celebrate this milestone in American Jewish history and hope you will join us for two extraordinary programs and to help us spread the word as widely as possible.

3:30-5:00 PM - 30 Years Later: How has the ordination of women by JTS impacted the Conservative movement and the American Jewish community? 

Chancellor Arnold Eisen will chair this panel with three eminent women: Alisa Doctoroff, president of the Board of UJA-Federation of New York; Blu Greenberg,  co-founder and first president of the Jewish Orthodox Feminist Alliance (JOFA); and Francine Klagsbrun, author and at the forefront of the effort to have women ordained as Conservative rabbis. 

5:45-7:00 PM - Women and Judaism – How Far Have We Come, Where are We Now, What’s Ahead?  

A “Mother-Daughter Dialogue with Letty Cottin Pogrebin & Abigail Pogrebin” Letty Cottin Pogrebin is a founding co-editor of Ms. Magazine and the author of 11 books and many articles; Abigail Pogrebin is the author of Stars of David and her column – “18 Holidays; One Wondering Jew” - about every holiday in the Jewish calendar, is currently featured in The Forward.  

These programs are free and open to the public but space is limited so please register here! We look forward to celebrating with you on April 28th!

For RA members who would like to attend the whole conference, visit